The CMBB Para Site International Art Residency (PS IAR) aims to promote the generation of art and ideas through the introduction of invited artists, curators and writers to Hong Kong. As the inaugural residency programme run by Para Site, PS IAR is conceptualised as a research period of up to two months where participants are encouraged to engage with the local and regional art scene through studio visits, talks, screenings, performances and other activities. At the same time, PS IAR hopes to become a platform to facilitate potential future opportunities and collaborations between Hong Kong, Para Site and the participants. PS IAR is an invitation-based programme and is currently unable to process unsolicited applications.

This residency programme is generously supported by CMBB Cultural Organisation. 




01 - 21.02.2019

Alia Swastika is a curator and researcher based in Yogyakarta. She is the Director of Jogja Biennale Foundation where she was the curator for Jogja Biennale Equator Series #1 Shadow Lines: Indonesia Meets India (2011) and became the Biennale Director in 2015. Alia was also co-artistic Director of The 9th Gwangju Biennale: ROUNDTABLE (2012). She has curated major international exhibitions including: The Past The Forgotten Time (Amsterdam, Jakarta, Semarang, Shanghai, Singapore, 2007-2008), Manifesto: The New Aesthetic of Seven Indonesian Artists (Singapore, 2010), Indonesian in Marker, Art Dubai (2012), and the latest was curator for Europalia Festival focus on Indonesia: Contemporary Art Projects. She is the founder of SOAP: Study of Art Practices, a publication, and research laboratory for visual arts in Yogyakarta. 




Para Site Art Space is financially supported by the Art Development Matching Grants Pilot Scheme of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region.

Founded in 1996, Para Site is Hong Kong's leading contemporary art centre and one of the oldest and most active independent art institutions in Asia. It produces exhibitions, publications, discursive, and educational projects aimed at forging a critical understanding of local and international phenomena in art and society.  


The content of these activities does not reflect the views of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region.